Ashoknagar Kalyangarh (অশোকনগর – কল্যাণগড়) is a populer city and a municipality under Ashoknagar police station of Barasat sadar subdivision in North 24 Parganas district in the state of West Bengal, India. Ashokenagar has a rich heritage of political consciousness, education & cultural movements. It has been a seat of refugee movement. Ashokenagar was planned by Dr. B.C Roy.Principal architects of Ashokenagar were late Congress leader Tarun Kanti Ghosh,late congress leader Keshab Bhattacharjee,late CPI leader Sadhan Sen and late CPI(M) leader Nani Kar. Till now drama and children festivals of national standards are held every year. The area has two beautiful parks – Sanghati Park and Millennium Science Park. It has a degree college, two hospitals ,several high schools,good libraries, an Engineering & Management Institution, two community halls and a stadium. The area is well connected to Kolkata through rail and road networks.
Some of the reputed schools of the locality include Ashoknagar Banipith Girls’ High School and Ashoknagar Adarsha Valika Vidyalaya for the girls and Ashoknagar Boys’ Secondary School & Kalyangarh Vidyamandir for Boys.
Ashoknagar has a spinning mill, named Kalyani Spinning Mill. It previously had a unit of RIC and a Chemicals factory both of which are closed down by the state government.

In the British period it was an Airbase of the British Airlines. After Independence Dr. Bidhan Chandra Roy, the CM of West Bengal that time developed that Airbase to a planned city for the refugees from Bangladesh. Formerly this place was known as “Habra Urbun Colony”. Later it was named “Ashoknagar”.

Ashokenagar is located at 22.833°N 88.633°E.

As of 2001 India census,Ashoknagar Kalyangarh had a population of 111,475. Males constitute 51% of the population and females 49%. Ashoknagar Kalyangarh has an average literacy rate of 79%, much much higher than the national average of 59.5%; with 53% of the males and 47% of females literate. 9% of the population is under 6 years of age.

Ashokenagar is a bastion of Left politics. The area is witness to the famous food movements of 1959 and 1966, refugee, students’ and teachers’ movements kept the locality politically vibrant till 1977. When the assembly segment was created for the first time in 1967, it was won by Dr. Sadhan Sen of the CPI. He held the seat in 1969 and 1971 also. Satyasebi Kar of CPI(M) won the Ashoknagar assembly seat in 2006 defeating Dhiman Roy of AITC. In 2001, Sharmistha Dutta of CPI(M) defeated Ashok Krishna Dutta of AITC. In 1996, Nirod Roy Choudhury of CPI(M) defeated Dhiman Roy of INC. Nani Kar of CPI(M) defeated Keshab Chandra Bhattachatjee of INC/Ind in 1991, 1987, 1982 and 1977. The municipality was run by the Left Front till 2010 when it suffered a huge setback winning just 2 of the 22 seats. Both seats were won by the CPI-M while CPI and FB drew a blank. Former chairperson of AKM was Mrs. Sarmistha Dutta. Now Mr. Samir Dutta of TMC is Chairman of Ashoknagar Kalyangarh Municipality(22.06.10). In 2005, first human rights organization has come in this area which is known as CPDR Ashoknagar Branch by the initiative of a well known and famous social worker Shri Shymal Kumar Shome, he is also the working president of this organization.

Ashokenagar Premier League T20:
First Season of APLT20 cricket tournament consists of 7 teams and 46 matches in 5 grounds. All the matches of APL followed the internationally recognized rules of T-20 cricket made by ICC. The event was held with much funfare in a time span of two months. The organizing committee(ASO) has also a web presence [1]. There is no scope of doubt that without involvement of energetic youth this event could be of a distant dream. Organizing officials also cordially thank all associated from Ashoke Nagar. The grand promotion for this mega event was organized at Golbazar in presence of Mr Satyasebi Kar , hon’ble MLA Ashokenagar, ASA members , ASO(APLT20 organizing committee) officials and thousands of spectators. The winning trophy, Runner up trophy and fair play trophy were shown as a part of this promotion. This function was concluded with a stunning performance by bangle band DAHAN who are also official music partner of APLT20. They perform the APL theme song first time in public at this promotion event. The excitement of APLT20 began on Nov 9 with a charitable match between players from all teams and ex cricketer’s of Ashokenagar. That day books, dresses and food packets will be distributed among poor needy children from different schools. The group league matches started from Nov 20. Four teams ‘Nabin Sangha Rockers’ , ‘Bush Rangers’ , ‘Challenger Express’ , ‘Royal Warriors’ entered into the Semis after completion of the group League Matches. Nabin Sangha Rockers and Challenger Express entered into the final beating Royal Warriors and Bush Rangers respectively.This was the first time in Habra-Ashokenagar region that a T20 final was played at night in presence of thousand of spectators. Nabin Sangha Rockers beat Challenger Express in the final by 3 Wicket to bag the APLT20 champion trophy. This tournament got a huge response and became very much famous among all the people of Ashokenagar and Habra region. Teams spot are already booked for next season with a lumsum registration fees. organizers have promised to bring APLT20 season two in 2011 with more excitement.